My Aching Back

Late last week I had just finished a long stint at the Garfield Park Library Branch when a tall, younger man came up to me and asked me for change. I told him I didn’t have any. Then he asked for the laptop I was carrying. I turned and walked away from him as fast as I could – running was impossible.

I don’t think I was in any real danger. The man’s speach was real odd, and I think he was trying to impress the hottish blonde he was with. But my trip home along Southern was done at record speed, and laying on the floor felt so good after I removed the laptop case.

This is only one of the reasons why I’ve been using the McDonald’s on Madison for WiFi. The price of admission is buying something, and I have encountered genuinely demented people along this path, or questionable ones around the strip bar across from Kmart. But the walk is much shorter, and all of my wireless devices work better.

I’m taking a class on Coursera from Stanford Medical School entitled “Writing in the Sciences”. The instructor is a clinical statistician and is one of the most engaging writing teachers I’ve ever met. She confirms that my writing and editorial ruthlessness is well within bounds, and that my values are confirmed. Not that matters much now.

I’ve been playing email and phone tag with a recruiter and his needs for specific kinds of information in order to present me to a client and prospective employer. I think Nelson Bolles is right – the resume that gets you hired is the correct resume. The recruiter didn’t much care for the hard-won two pager that came out of meetings with WorkOne’s resume guru, but preferred the five pager with all they guey detail. This is what good recruiters do – understand the needs of the client and what needs to be done for hiring to happen.

Leave a Reply

